Resident Evil 4, comedy or horror?

Leon in all of his glory

Resident Evil 4 came out in 2005 but was later released for the newer consoles and I immediately bought it for my PS4 to add up to my collection. Main character in this game is Leon and it takes place in Spain and his mission is to save the presidents daughter Ashley Graham.

He starts off in a forest where a van lets him off and he sets out to find more clues on her whereabouts and finds a house nearby which he enters. He finds a man in the house and Leon asks him if he has seen Ashley and shows him a picture of her. The man only speaks Spanish so no luck here. What Leon does not know though is that there is a parasite infecting every villager called “Las Plagas” translating into “Plagues”. This parasite is controlled by the main villain of the game which is introduced later into the game. Leon decides to look for other villagers since this one was of no help but quickly realizes that this villager wants to kill him but fails of course, I mean nobody can kill Leon!

He runs towards a small village filled with villagers working and he notices a policeman being burned at the stake. He fights against the villagers and there does not seem to be an end to them but Leon is saved by the bell, literally. A church bell rings and they all walk towards the church and Leon says “Where’d everybody go? Bingo?” which left me laughing because to me that was unexpected from a game like this. Now that I think about it though it really is Leons style to make jokes at the worst times possible so I will give this game a plus for that one.

Fast forward so I do not spoil too much. He finds the leader and his name is Saddler. Saddler has this power to control people having the Plagas parasite inside them because he makes Leon get on his knees and takes over Ashleys mind making her eyes glow red and walk towards him and so they leave together. On his journey he meets a woman, can you guess who it is? ADA WONG! Ada is showing her face once again with Leon and she is still as mysterious as usual, that is Ada for you. She saves him from a little situation he had with his former friend Krauser. Krauser and him will have their face off at another time though.

Now to fast forward even more we fast forward to when Leon actually saves Ashley and does not lose her again. They get on a jetski and the entire place is going to blow up and when they finally get out (barely) Ashley asks if Leon wants to do some overtime with her, yeah we all know what she meant! But he has eyes for another woman. They have contact with each other throughout the entire game and she is Ingrid Hannigan! He is a bit flirty with her so it was kind of expected. He ends with a line that I just love “Story of my life…”. That is my summary of the story leaving many questions left and some of you readers might want to know more and if so, buy the game or hit me up! It is as easy as that.

Leon, Ashley and Ada

Now over to my own experience! I will probably fill in some other stuff here that I did not fill in on the storyline part. So basically I played this game a long time ago on the Nintendo Gamecube and when it got released to PS4 I instantly bought it. This game is what you call an old but gold. In my opinion though they probably took out too much of the horror part in this game because I was never as scared or tense as I was when I played Resident Evil 7 or Resident Evil 2 Remastered. I still loved it though so it was definitely not a failure.

One character I also loved in this game besides Leon was the merchant! The merchant is really mysterious character in the game that sells you equipment and upgrades. You can also sell rare gems or items you find in the game for big or small amounts of PTAS that counts as the games currency. You can sell basically everything you get your hands on but I would not recommend selling ammo because the merchant himself strangely enough does not ever sell ammo to you! Can you believe it? Neither can I!

This explains my point and everyone elses point about this merchant!

Then we have probably the most annoying part of the game, Ashley… Ashley counts as a partner once you find her and she has got her own health bar and she has a much smaller amount of health compared to you. What is even worse is that she can not fight for herself, she gets carried away by other enemies and if you accidentally shoot her she dies and if you do not rescue her in time she gets carried through a door and it is game over. So when trying to complete the game on Professional you can just imagine how difficult it was having her by your side. She was a great character in the game but was a really bad partner.

Ashley in one picture

During the game Leon has some funny lines that just puts a lot of comedy into the game and makes a situation funnier than it should be. So the comedy part of the game is really good.

With all of this said I want to end it by saying that this game is more fitting with the action/comedy genres and not horror if you ask me. Not a lot of scary parts in this game. Do I love it? YES! Do I recommend that you buy it? Hell yes!

1 thought on “Resident Evil 4, comedy or horror?

  1. A really funny and great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close