Resident Evil 2 Remake, is it that good?

Resident Evil 2 Remake is a remastered edition of the original game Resident Evil 2 that was released back in 1998 by Capcom. They released it in 2019 again because of Hideki Kamiya (director of the original Resident Evil 2) who kept on pushing Capcom to release a remastered edition which they eventually did and I thank him for that one because it was worth it. Upon the release of the full game they sold up to 3 million copies during the first week, 3 MILLION! An insane number in such short amount of time.

Resident Evil 2 is a 3rd person horror game mixed with action. The games environment is an apocalyptic outbreak with a dark tone to it so you always keep focused and on your toes because you never know what will happen.

The game is set in Raccoon City where you either play as Leon S. Kennedy or Claire Redfield. I chose to play as Leon first because I liked him more. It starts with him driving his car towards Raccoon City because he is a cop and the R.P.D (Racoon City Police Department) is his workplace. It was supposed to be his first day and unfortunately it all went to hell because there is a zombie outbreak in the entire city. He finds shelter inside the R.P.D building and realizes quickly that it is not much safer inside either. Almost everyone inside has either turned into zombies or been killed by them or some of the other cops who were alive before he arrived.

He finds himself in a tricky spot when a fellow colleague named Marvin Branagh rescues him from it and unfortunately, Marvin has been bitten. Marvin tells Leon about a secret passage that leads out of the R.P.D station and Leon sets out to find this passage. But his adventure is far from over, once out of the station he bumps into a new enemy that has got a mutated arm with a big yellow eye in it. Leon defeats him and decides to get out of there. He climbs up some ladders and finds himself in a garage that is locked and requires a keycard. While there a dog shows up behind him and attacks him trying to kill him, just when he thinks it is all over for him a mysterious woman fires a bullet into the dog so Leon can be free. She claims she is from the FBI and walks away before Leon can ask any further questions.

He investigates and finally finds that keycard but on that journey he bumps into yet another enemy which has a pretty famous name in the Resident Evil community: “Mr. X” or as the community puts it “Mr. X gon’ give it to ya”. I wish I could explain more about the games storyline and all but I feel like I have already spoiled too much for any of you who has yet to play the game. So this is as much as I am wiling to tell you.

I pre-ordered the Deluxe Edition of the remake obviously because I am a huge fan of the Resident Evil franchise. I must say that it was worth the 86 dollars because I could not stop playing it! I was completely stuck playing it for hours and hours because of how good it was.

Maybe I have too much spare time?

After spending a lot of time playing it and completing it on the different difficulties the game has to offer I always find myself with new challenges to overcome each time. Aiming for a platinum trophy (yes, I play on PS4) was not going to be easy for me but I was not going to give up that easily. I thought I would get my platinum after finally completing the last trophy “Lore Explorer” which meant I had to find and read all files, unfortunately I had missed one. I look up on the internet for some clues on where it might be and realize that some files can only be found depending on who you play as and depending on which scenario you play as well. I was furious but decided to try to get it anyways.

I finally get it but, there is no Platinum trophy popping up. I asked myself what I have missed. I scroll through my trophies and there it is, at the bottom of the list: “Hidden Trophy”… what could it be? Should I spoil it? Should I just guess myself towards it? No. I pressed on the trophy and decided to reveal it, after spending 140+ hours on the game I was not going to spend 140 more. It said “Grim Reaper Complete “The 4th Survivor” extra mode”. I went full on focus mode and if you are a gamer then you know exactly what full on focus mode is and what it feels like. Palms sweaty, eyes not blinking and any sort of sound that is not coming from the game is blocked out. I grabbed my controller and the challenge began.

I ran, I shot, I killed and I died in that order. Was one of my worst nightmares of a gameplay. Frustration was sky high, but after being lucky enough I made it out. I screamed of joy and happiness. “FINALLY!” and it was certainly not a disappointment, I checked my trophy list and PS4 has this amazing feature capturing the moment when you receive the trophy and it was the coolest thing I have ever seen!

You should’ve been here when I got it!

This beauty right here is the proof of what you can achieve if you never give up and just keep on trying. So is this game that good? HELL YEAH IT IS! I am 100% recommending this game to any of you who has not already bought it! It is going to be an experience you will not forget.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close